Phil Mickelson finally issues apology for deliberately hitting moving ball

Share

Phil Mickelson stirred up a bit of controversy by hitting a moving ball on the green during a frustrating U.S. Open, and "Lefty" is now apologizing for the incident.

The five-times major champion was already out of contention for victory when he deliberately prevented his ball from rolling off the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills in Southampton, New York, by running after the ball and hitting it back towards the hole.

With a winning purse of $12 million, four players were tied for the lead around noon on Sunday, at 3 over par: Daniel Berger, Tony Finau, Brooks Koepka, and Dustin Johnson.

Lee Westwood says Phil Mickelson should have been disqualified for his breach.

He chatted with his family after emerging from the scoring room, and then signed autographs before walking away. It's my understanding of the rules, I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that I just finally did it.

Suspect arrested in shooting death of rapper XXXTentacion
Florida authorities have apprehended a suspect for the murder of rapper XXXTentacion , who was shot and killed on Monday. XXXTentacion , whose real name is Jahseh Onfroy , was shot and killed while sitting in a auto , according to police.

After he completed Saturday's round, Mickelson told reporters he meant no disrespect, that he was merely taking advantage of the rule.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.

USGA's senior managing director of championships and governance John Bodenhamer stated that the reason Mickelson was not disqualified from the competition was because Mickelson "didn't purposely deflect or stop the ball, which is talked about in the reference under Rule 14-5. Sometimes in these situations, it's just easier to take the 2 shots and move on". "Phil knows the rules". "If there was a chance it was going to go back behind the bunker and he's got to chip back or he was going to play off the green anyways.so he was potentially saving himself a shot. He knows the rules". "Honestly, I laughed", the Ulsterman told a press conference ahead of his participation in the Travelers Championship in CT.

"I was practising when it happened". Look, a player that's been in that head space at that tournament, I can see it happening to people. "I don't know if I'd go to the lengths he went to make a statement like that, but I felt there was a massive overreaction to it".

Share