Nigeria announce 30-man provisional World Cup squad


Nigeria have released the provisional list of the Super Eagles for the summer FIFA World Cup.

Nwankwo plays as a forward for the Italian Serie A club, Crotone and scored seven goals in the season just ended.

Midfielders include: Mikel John Obi, Wilfred Ndidi, Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Agu, Uche Agbo, Joel Obi, Oghenekaro Etebo and John Ogu.

Eagles coach Gernot Rohr kept faith in the quartet of Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Ajiboye, Daniel Akpeyi and youngster Francis Uzoho in the goalkeeping department.

The most intriguing selections were of Nwankwo and Lokosa, although they both may struggle to make the final 23-man squad due to be named by June 4 because of Nigeria's strength up front.

NFF Names 30 Eagles For World Cup
#WorldCupWith360nobs: Nigerian Coach Announces 30-Man Provisional Squad For Russia 2018

Regulars such as Jon Obi Mikel, Alex Iwobi, Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho and William Troost-Ekong made the cut.

Defenders include: Stephen Eze, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Olaoluwa Aina, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu, Chidozie Awaziem, Abdullahi Shehu and Elderson Echiejile.

The team is scheduled to take on DR Congo on May 28, before moving out to England to take on Three Lions in Wembley stadium on June 2 and Czech Republic on June 6.

They go to Russian Federation afterwards for the World Cup finals.

Iran's Zarif: US undermines JCPOA
The deal focused on limiting and monitoring Iran's production of nuclear fuel, a key ingredient for producing such weapons. Zarif's visit to the Russian capital Moscow is part of his global tour , as an effort to save the Iran nuclear deal.