Former No 1 Karolina Pliskova bashes umpire's chair with racquet after loss

Share

Czech tennis player Karolina Pliskova was incensed with a horrendous call during her second-round match with Maria Sakkari at the Italian Open on Wednesday.

The Czech was locked at a set all, 5-5, and 40-40 in a tense match against the world number 42 in Rome.

Karolina Pliskova is now the world number six in the women's singles rankings, and topped the pile as recently as July 2017.

With both players locked at 5-5 in the decisive set, Pliskova smashed home a victor which was incorrectly called out much to the dismay of the Czech Republic star.

Despite TV replays proving Pliskova's shot was in, HawkEye and the challenge system isn't used on clay so the chair and line umpires rely on ball marks to settle disputes.

Lawsuit Aims To Stop Iowa's Abortion Law From Going Into Effect
ACLU of Iowa Legal Director Rita Bettis said no state or federal court has upheld an abortion law that is this restrictive. They are also asking the Polk County District Court to block the law from taking effect while the lawsuit plays out.

Sports fans also took to social media to point out that several calls made by the umpire were wrong.

But to her astonishment, umpire Marta Mrozinska and the line judge called the ball out.

After the match, Pliskova didn't shake hands with the chair umpire and struck the chair several times with her racket.

Sakkari went on to break Pliskova's serve on the back of he decision and served out the match to win 3-6, 6-3, 7-5.

Share